Future Case

Crossmedia, Social, Mobile, Business Modeling, Marketing, Research and insights

Earning logics. Building a comprehensive list

with 6 comments

Henny de Vos and Timber Haaker, two senior researcher of the Dutch Telematica Instituut will publish a book at Springer this month June, 2008, about a new and quite innovative business modeling approach called STOF. STOF stand for Service, Technology, Organization and Finance and offers a comprehensive way of modeling your business. Henny and Timber were so kind to treat the research group with a workshop on the topic. I’m happy to say that not just research fellows attended class but also a number of our faculty colleagues (sorry to say that no students showed up). During our session, we’ve had the change to sneak preview the book and, to be honest, I can’t wait till it is published as I believe that the material is very relevant, also in terms of value creation in cross media. I believe that the STOF approach is very well suited for the things I’m working on: “What is the influence of cross media on the relationship between ‘consumers’ and ‘organizations’?”

As Niniane Veldhoen and Matthijs Rotte are approaching their deadline for their dissertation (their work on ‘mentality and share of voice’ is on schedule), we came across the question of earning logics in cross media. I took upon the task of finding out. That is not a simple job. Of course, we have Anderson and Rappa. But is that enough? Is there a comprehensive list of earning logics, not business models? The STOF approach may help me clear the job the next couple of days and I have set upon the task of focusing on the ‘F’, the Financial domain as earning logics are normally situated in it. I say normally because I question if all earning logics deal with finance.

The Henley Centre taught us about six years ago at the Mobile Marketing Association gathering that money is not the only scarcity people have to their availability when exchanging products and services. Time, energy and space are as relevant as money is. But time, energy and space cannot be expressed in hard cash. This made me think about earning logics from a different perspective. What is the offerer of products and services doesn’t focus on getting money as a barter but instead the consumer’s time or energy or space? But for the sake of simplicity, I will start by trying to compose a list of earning logics that deal with money as means of transaction.

We often confuse business modeling with earning logics. STOF shows us that earnings (financial domain) is just one of four domains. So now my question: Can you help me with ideas, articles, whatever to cook up that list of earning logics? I’d be obliged and pretty soon, I will publish the list on this blog. Hope to hear from you.

Written by Kees Winkel

May 31, 2008 at 14:38

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Kees,

    The STOF-workshop that we did with you was much enjoyed by us as well. As a matter of fact the STOF book that you mention is heading your way right now. Some more info can be found on http://www.stofmethod.com – the place where we want to communicate about STOF developments and practices, and where we hope to start a STOF commmunity.

    Timber Haaker

    September 25, 2008 at 21:24

  2. Your content is very interesting, bookmarked
    regards khhudf

    earn online

    August 21, 2009 at 18:10

  3. WOW, i like your blog theme, content is very interesting, bookmarked, regards

    True Blood s02e13

    September 7, 2009 at 18:35

  4. Subject of your post is very interesting, bookmarked, regards hlonkoburg

    free mahjong

    September 12, 2009 at 19:47

  5. Interesting read, your blog is awsome, bookmarked, regards biurkosram
    skuteczne odchudzanie

    zdrowe odchudzanie

    September 20, 2009 at 11:42

  6. Hello i am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching Yahoo for something else, Anyway I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous blog posting and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I do not have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more,

    Hyo Zeise

    February 3, 2010 at 13:37


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 502 other followers