Future Case

Crossmedia, Social, Mobile, Business Modeling, Marketing, Research and insights

The downside of social media, a personal experience.

leave a comment »

I believe in social media. I can see the virtues, the connectivity, the creation of your own content and share it with others. To share. If we share, we can learn from each other, we can relate. That’s all true. Yet, I now have experienced the downside of it all. People can be true monsters.

The Dutch Hyves, similar to MySpace, offers all who want to create a profile. Any profile. Recently, I was pointed to a Hyves page that focuses on trying to harm my son. The page is done by three youngsters who hate him. Can you believe it? I am shocked. Normally I never talk about my personal life but as this phenomenon has now entered the intimacy of my family’s living room, I strongly believe that the broad discussion on mental aggression in social media must be intensified.

Hyves has a protocol on this issue, one that may well be stronger than local legislation but with over five million members in the Netherlands (with a total population slightly over 16 million), the company has a hard time living up to its promises of their quest to eliminate this kind of trash.

Written by Kees Winkel

April 4, 2008 at 13:51

Posted in 1

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

