Future Case

Crossmedia, Social, Mobile, Business Modeling, Marketing, Research and insights

Mobile Life and some summits

leave a comment »

There’s really a lot of stuff going on these days. Especially when it concerns mobile issues. Obviously, The Next Web conference at Westergasfabriek in Amsterdam last week was a real top hit. Heck out some of the reviews here. Perhaps some get-togethers may be of your interest; they certainly are of mine. So, what have we? This is my little resume of the next couple of days.

May 12: Mcommerce Summit in New York: speaker from eBay, Target, Jos. A. Bank, HSN, Carrabba’s Italian Grill, Sunkist, Jewelry Television. At this event organized by Mobile Commerce Daily  at the National Museum of the American Indian across from Manhattan’s Battery Park downtown, attendees will get to listen and meet with key executives moving the needle for mobile commerce. The conference will be limited to only 200 delegates. It looks like a very interesting conference to me. I’m afraid I wont attend as I have other important engagements less far from home.

Same day, May 12: Mobilism. In two days you will explore the mobile world from a web-centric point of view. All of the speakers are deeply rooted in the web and have at one time or another decided to take their talent to mobile. They will teach you which web techniques work on mobile, which don’t, and which new ones you need in order to keep up with a rapidly changing web.

Mobilism sounds to be a very good conference. I’m not going. I’ll send one of my graduates from the Crossmedialab, Dennis Houtzager, who is wrapping up his thesis on Mobile User Interface right now.

And then, at least for me, I’ll join a fine group of scholars, students and people from business in a four day think tank session at Almere, called the Media Future Week. Already you may follow the preps via Twitter #mediafutureweek. For once, I’ll be participating as a freshman, not as a scholar.

Let me conclude with another summit: The Location Business Summit. Amsterdam, 24 and 25th May. The Location industry is changing fast. As location becomes an underlying feature of most mobile products and services companies are in the unique position to take advantage of this growing demand and solidify their place in the value chain. The Location Business Summit was created to give companies the information they need to get ahead. I just might go there. It is in my home town in the Krasnapolsky Hotel. That hotel has a special connotation for me. I’ll explain later.

Written by Kees Winkel

May 5, 2011 at 11:54

Leave a Reply

