Future Case

Crossmedia, Social, Mobile, Business Modeling, Marketing, Research and insights

Should Facebook Pay You? Or: How To Monetize Friends And Charge People | Fast Company

with 2 comments

A new social network, MyCube, thinks that we devalue our information when we give it away for free. Founded by Swedish entrepreneur Johan Staël von Holstein, MyCube offers users the chance to monetize their data, through advertising or a system of “nanopayments.”

Johan Staël von Holstein doesn’t seem to like Mark Zuckerberg.

“I have 5,000 friends on Facebook,” says the Swedish-born entrepreneur, who lives in Singapore, but was about to board a flight from Barcelona to Germany, and then to Dubai, when we spoke by phone. “I could have had 10,000, but Mark Zuckerberg only lets me have five. I could have sent out an article to all of them, but I can’t, because Mark Zuckerberg only lets me send to 20 people. Mark Zuckerberg doesn’t let me do mass communication.”

via Should Facebook Pay You? Or: How To Monetize Friends And Charge People | Fast Company.

Written by Kees Winkel

May 22, 2011 at 09:24

Posted in 1

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] network, MyCube, thinks that we devalue our information when we give it away for free. … how to monetize facebook – Google Blog Search This entry was posted in How To Create Traffic From Facebook and tagged charge, Facebook, […]

  2. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Emerald Welchel

    June 13, 2011 at 00:28


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s